Quote of the day

Frank Ramsey (1903 – 1930), one of the greatest intellectuals of the 20th century, is often quoted on using his size to illustrate his world view:

Where I seem to differ from some of my friends is in attaching little importance to physical size. I don’t feel the least humble before the vastness of the heavens. The stars may be large, but they cannot think or love; and these are qualities which impress me far more than size does. I take no credit for weighing nearly seventeen stone […]

The New York Review just reviewed a biography on Ramsey that I am unlikely to read, but I would want to read a biography more in line with what the reviewer wants, one that ‘describe and place in intellectual history his important contributions to economics, mathematics, and philosophy’.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

