Living Among the Dead

A colleague recommended New Ideas from Dead Economists by Todd G. Buchholz. I just started it, and progress is as always rather slow, but I think I’m in for a fun read; the following paragraph from the Acknowledgements holds promise of the kind of dry humor probably characteristic of academics, but which I like nonetheless:

I want to apologize to those economists mentioned in this book who are living today. The title, New Ideas from Dead Economists, is not meant to refer to them, their personalities, or their public speaking abilities   although I cannot be held responsible for resemblances. They should take comfort in the honor of being mentioned alongside Smith, Ricardo, Keynes, and others.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Living Among the Dead”

  1. The Early, British Hegemony in Economics « Kvams Says:

    […] still reading New Ideas from Dead Economists by Todd Buchholz (progressing slowly; see Living Among the Dead). Although I haven’t seen much to the promising new ideas yet, Buchholz give a great, […]

Comments are closed.


