Bushisms

President George W. Bush has made himself a reputation for saying strange things. Sometimes obviously wrong, sometimes illogical, sometimes completely meaningless, but always amusing. These strange quotes even got a name; Bushisms. Jacob Weisberg has collecte more than 500 hundred strange quotes from the president’s mouth, and in this article he lists his favorites.

Much can be said about President W (and much is said already, I’m sure). He has one positive feature rare in leaders, however; he’s able to laugh of himself. “Now ladies and gentlemen, you have to admit that in my sentences I go where no man has gone before.”

Some of my favorites among Weisberg’s favorites:

Our enemies are innovative and resourceful, and so are we. They never stop thinking about new ways to harm our country and our people, and neither do we.

And there is distrust in Washington. I am surprised, frankly, at the amount of distrust that exists in this town. And I’m sorry it’s the case, and I’ll work hard to try to elevate it.

We’ll let our friends be the peacekeepers and the great country called America will be the pacemakers.

President George W. Bush

Tags: , ,


